President Droupadi Murmu Appoints New Governors In 12 States & One UT

Droupadi Murmu, the president of India, nominated governors for 12 states and one union territory on Sunday whereas accepting the resignations of two different Governors, Radha Krishna Mathur of Ladakh and Bhagat Singh Koshyari of Maharashtra. Meghalaya and Nagaland are two of the 13 that can have elections quickly.

4 BJP leaders, former SC choose amongst 6 new governors appointed by President Murmu

Murmu has named Gulab Chand Kataria because the governor of Assam, Justice (retired) S Abdul Nazeer because the governor of Andhra Pradesh, Lakshman Prasad Acharya because the governor of Sikkim, C. P. Radhakrishnan because the governor of Jharkhand, Shiv Pratap Shukla because the governor of Himachal Pradesh, and Lieutenant Normal Kaiwalya Trivikram Parnaik because the governor of Arunachal Pradesh.

Justice S Abdul Nazeer, a former Supreme Courtroom justice, participated within the landmark determination on the Ayodhya property dispute. He was a member of the five-judge panel that heard the “triple talaq” case, however with Chief Justice of India J. S. Khehar, they issued a minority judgement.

Murmu has reshuffled seven governors, along with making new appointments.

Biswa Bhusan Harichandan, the governor of Andhra Pradesh, has been named the brand new governor of Chhattisgarh; Sushri Anusuiya Uikye, the governor of Chhattisgarh, has been appointed governor of Manipur; La Ganesan, the governor of Manipur, has been named the brand new governor of Nagaland; Phagu Chauhan, the governor of Bihar, is now answerable for Meghalaya; Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar, governor of Himachal Pradesh, is now governor of Bihar, and Ramesh Bais, governor of Jharkhand, is now governor of Maharashtra. Moreover, retired Arunachal Pradesh governor Brigadier B D Mishra has been given the place of L-G of Ladakh.

It said that “the appointments of governors talked about above will probably be efficient as of the dates they take up their respective workplaces.”

Bais, the present governor of Maharashtra, started his political profession in 1980 as a councillor within the Raipur Municipal Company. He later gained the Raipur Lok Sabha seat seven instances for the BJP, giving him the nickname “large killer.” Previous to being chosen in 2019 for the Tripura governor’s workplace, he held numerous important positions within the social gathering.

Starting in July 2021, Bais occupied Ranchi’s Raj Bhavan. Political heavyweights V C Shukla of the Congress and Bhupesh Baghel, the present chief minister of Chhattisgarh, had been among the many males he had defeated all through his political profession as a lawmaker.

BS Koshyari Exits As Maharashtra Governor

Bhagat Singh Koshyari and R Ok Mathur, former governors of Maharashtra and Ladakh.

Former Jharkhand governor Ramesh Bais will take over for Bhagat Singh Koshyari, whose resignation as governor of Maharashtra has been accepted by the President. The opposition leaders have welcomed Mr Koshyari’s departure from Raj Bhavan as a result of they imagine his provocative feedback on icons have harmed Marathi sentiment.

Koshyari, who’s 80 years previous, knowledgeable Prime Minister Narendra Modi final month that he wished to resign from his place. Based on an announcement from Raj Bhavan, “Governor Koshyari has indicated his want to spend the rest of his life in studying, writing, and different leisurely pastimes.”

In November of final 12 months, Mr Koshyari incited controversy by referring to Chhatrapati Shivaji as “an icon of the bygone days.” Because the political opposition accused the Governor of insulting the Maratha chieftain, prime BJP leaders had been compelled to enter the fray. Earlier than that, he courted controversy by asserting that if Gujaratis and Rajasthanis go away, Maharashtra gained’t have any cash left.

Mr Koshyari, a veteran of the RSS who has held the positions of Chief Minister and Member of Parliament in each Homes, was chosen as Governor in 2019. He usually made information all through his reign resulting from his contentious remarks and several other run-ins with the Uddhav Thackeray administration.

Radha Krishna Mathur’s resignation from her place as Lieutenant Governor of Ladakh was additionally accepted by the President.