ICC appoints feminine match officers For Girls’s T20 World Cup

The 2023 girls’s T20 World Cup in South Africa will function an all-female match officers lineup, a game-changing first. The ICC unveiled the panel of three match referees and 10 umpires on Friday, which included officers from seven nations. 

GS Lakshmi (India), Shandre Fritz (South Africa), and Michell Pereira are the match officers (Sri Lanka). Sue Redfern (England), Eloise Sheridan (Australia), Claire Polosak (Australia), Jacqueline Williams (West Indies), Kim Cotton (New Zealand), Lauren Agenbag (South Africa), Anna Harris (England), Vrinda Rathi (India), N Janani (India), and Nimali Perera would be the on-field and TV umpires (Sri Lanka). The group was chosen as a part of the governing physique’s “strategic goal of increasing the engagement and visibility of ladies in cricket,” based on an ICC assertion.

Supply: ICC

As well as, the panel will embrace 4 extra feminine match referees and umpires than the 9 officers on the present girls’s Beneath-19 T20 World Cup, making it a record-breaking ICC occasion.

 “On account of the speedy development of ladies’s cricket lately, we have now been constructing the framework to ensure that extra girls have the chance to officiate on the video games on the prime degree, this information is a mirrored image of our goal on this sector and solely the beginning of our journey the place women and men have the identical potentialities throughout our sport. We’re devoted to persevering with to help our feminine match officers and provides alternatives to show their talents on the world stage. They’re competing, so I want them luck,” mentioned Wasim Khan, the ICC’s common supervisor of cricket. 

Supply: ICC

Towards February 10, the opening match of the eighth Girls’s T20 World Cup noticed hosts South Africa taking up Sri Lanka. The reigning champs Australia are in Group A with South Africa, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and New Zealand. Eire, Pakistan, West Indies, England, and India make up Group B. 

Into the semi-finals will advance the highest two groups from every group. The video games will happen in Paarl, Gqebera, and Cape City, with the championship recreation happening on February 26 at Newlands.